Mission=Parent Training

Well, at least at this site. As of tomorrow, I’ll have been here for two weeks and it’s amazing how many times already I have thought how this is training me to be a parent. Honestly, in some ways this is probably harder than normal parenting. I don’t think I’ll have 39 girls (I mean we don’t know, but probably not). I also probably won’t speak a different language than my kids, nor will I be making sure my kids are doing their chores and washing their clothes and uniforms by hand everyday.

As difficult as all those things may sound, I am loving it here so far. I love learning new weird games (like different versions of tag where some are angels and others are demons). I love walking around and asking the girls if they’ve done their chores and washed their clothes (even when I have to ask them 30 times to show me because I know they’re lying). I love teaching the little ones to ride a bike (even though I don’t know how to explain any of it in Spanish). I love the little smirk they have when they tell me something and I know they’re lying and call them out on it. I love dancing with them and having them laugh at me. This life is definitely different and difficult, but so far, it’s worth it.

So because most people don’t like reading super long blog posts (I know I don’t), I will now give a list of funny/weird/embarrassing/interesting things that have happened/I have noticed:

  1. Things are super cheap here. The exchange to dollars is 7-1, so the 2B trufi ride is the equivalent of about 30cents in the US.
  2. We live in Itocta, a small neighborhood area south of the main city, where there are more cows than there are people.
  3. I got locked in a bathroom last week. It’s okay. Sister broke the lock to get me out and I was only in there for a few minutes. But the Sisters still keep laughing about it.
  4. The three most common phrases I use are “Que estas haciendo??” (What are you doing?), “Has hecho…?” (Have you done….?), and “No entiendo.” (I don’t understand.)
  5. People often make comments about how pale you are and ask if there’s sun in the US.
  6. Patience is key. For the language, the girls, the traffic when there’s roadblocks, the wifi in the hogar, etc.
  7. We braid hair everyday, and I’m not good at it. Yet another thing I need to learn and practice.

Well, until next time. Please continue to pray for the girls, my community, the Sisters, and myself. And if you’re interested in donating to the hogar or helping sponsor one of the girls who has graduated and is continuing her studies, please don’t hesitate to contact me. God bless!

Leave a Reply

