Arriving in Bolivia

So it’s been a long time coming, but I’m finally here! After 3 flights and 19 hours of traveling, yesterday morning I arrived in Cochabamba, Bolivia. After quickly dropping off my things at the Hogar (orphanage), we met up with everyone at Globos, a place somewhat similar to Chuck E. Cheese, where kids from multiple hogars were eating, playing games, and getting sprayed with water. It was a long day, but I’m so glad I went and started meeting some of the girls.

Everyone that knows me knows I’ve traveled a lot, both with my family and by myself. So when it came time to leave for Bolivia for 2 years, I was shocked that I was so nervous and unsure. I had a lot of doubts and anxieties, but I decided to go ahead with anything anyway, and I’m already really glad I did. My family and friends helped calm my nerves a lot, and then I even met a lady in the Santa Cruz airport who reassured me that I’m supposed to be here. Even though she’s from Bolivia she has lived in the US as a Spanish teacher for the last 45 years. Having a conversation in English with this woman at 5am was the best thing that could have happened to me. It calmed my nerves and it got me excited for Bolivia all over again.

As it’s only my second day, I’m just trying to get used to the routine, learn names, remember which of my 30 keys is used for which door, and keep learning Spanish. I am going to try to update my blog periodically, but in the meantime please know of my prayers for all of you. Please also pray for myself, the girls, the Sisters, and the other volunteers.

If you would like to make a donation to the Hogar, please click here and choose “Bolivia-Hogar Maria Auxiliadora – Orphanage (Cochabamba).” Any donation will go directly to our site and the needs of the girls. God bless!

7 thoughts on “Arriving in Bolivia

  1. Dear Rhiannon, I am so proud of you. This is an adventure you will remember forever, and it’s for the good of those young girls souls you are taking care of. They are so lucky to have a person like you taking care of them. I haven’t made a donation yet, but I’m thinking of making it a monthly gift to the Bolivia-Hogar Maria Auxiliadora – Orphanage. If this is correct, let me know. If you would prefer I do something different, please advise. With all my love Grandpa Tom.

    Like

    1. Hi Grandpa! Thank you! Yes that is correct. You can either do that or the transition home for the girls who have graduated already (Bolivia-Casa San Miguel), but yes Hogar Maria Auxiliadora is the site I am at.

      Like

  2. So happy you are there and doing well! Hope all is well -we are proud of you and what you are doing there in Bolivia. Enjoy this experience! Love you, Aunt Jill,Uncle Eric, Jess, Jessie and Jules ❤️❤️

    Like

Leave a Reply

